Make your own free website on
Other Disqualifications Of F1 Drivers

There are various disqualifications over the past 25 years, many of the drivers reinstatedwith thier points

1976 - James Hunt (McLaren)

Hunt won the Spanish Grand Prix at Jarama in May but was disqualified when his car was found to be a fraction too wide. The Briton was reinstated in July and went on to win the championship by one point from Austrian Niki Lauda.

Hunt was also disqualified from the British Grand Prix later in July. He won the race, which was re-started after a first lap pile-up, but was then disqualified because he had failed to complete the first lap of the original race.

1982 - Nelson Piquet (Brabham), Keke Rosberg (Williams), Gilles Villeneuve (Ferrari) and Niki Lauda (McLaren)

Brazilian Piquet won and Finland's Rosberg finished second in Brazil but both were disqualified for having underweight cars. Both had their water tanks for brake cooling topped up after the race to add to the weight, something that was ruled to be illegal.

Canadian Villeneuve was third in the USA-West Grand Prix at Long Beach but was disqualified for using an irregular rear wing. The day after Villeneuve was killed in practice for the Belgian Grand Prix, Austrian Niki Lauda finished third but was disqualified for having a car weighing below 580 kg.

1985 - Alain Prost (McLaren)

Prost won the San Marino Grand Prix but was disqualified because his car weighed less than 540 kg.

1987 - Ayrton Senna (Lotus)

Senna finished second in Australia but was ruled out for having raced with irregular brake ducts. The disqualification cost the Brazilian second place in the championship.

1989 - Senna (McLaren)

Senna and Prost were team mates and rivals for the championship. The two collided six laps from the end, with Prost going out and Senna winning the race. But the Brazilian was disqualified for having been pushed by marshalls after the collision and having missed a chicane. The decision was upheld at appeal and Prost was declared world champion.

1994 - Michael Schumacher (Benetton)

Schumacher won in Belgium but was disqualified because his Benetton had ground away too much of a wooden skidblock board fixed to the bottom of the car to monitor ground clearance. Benetton argued the board was damaged by a spin during the race when Schumacher hit a kerb. The team's appeal was rejected.

Benetton escaped sanction in the same season after a pit lane blaze when they were found to have removed a filter from the refuelling system. The team admitted the fault but argued that it was not intentional to gain any advantage.

1995 - Schumacher (Benetton) and David Coulthard (Williams)

Schumacher won in Brazil and Coulthard was second but both were then disqualified for running on irregular fuel. On appeal, the teams lost points from the constructors' championship and were fined but the drivers had their points restored. Schumacher went on to win the title by a hefty margin.

1997 - Hakkinen (McLaren)

The Finn was stripped of his third place finish in Belgium for fuel irregularities and McLaren were fined $50,000, even though the FIA recognised that both McLaren and their fuel supplier had ``acted in good faith and that the non-conformity of the fuel was due to a mistake and was unintentional.''