Make your own free website on

1998 - Hakkinen (Finland) McLaren 
Hakkinen was second-fastest in qualifying but was gifted a clear road when pole-setter and sole title rival Schumacher stalled and was made to start at the rear of the grid. Schumacher went out with an exploded right rear tyre on lap 32 after roaring back to third place. Hakkinen was champion. 

1997 - Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 
Schumacher's win, coupled with the disqualification of Canadian Jacques Villenueve for ignoring a yellow flag, ensured the title race went to the final round in Spain.Irvine passed Hakkinen, Schumacher and then Villeneuve. The Briton then allowed Schumacher to go past before blocking Villeneuve. ``It is thanks to him that I have this victory,'' said Schumacher. 

1996 - Damon Hill (Britain)
Williams Hill emulated his father Graham's success and became the first son of a former champion to win the title. This was also his last
race for Williams and he led from start to finish. Hill knew he was champion 15 laps from the end when only rival Villeneuve crashed out when his right rear wheel
came loose. 

1995 - Schumacher
Benetton Schumacher had already won the world title the week before at the Pacific Grand Prix at Aida. This win also secured the
constructors' title for Benetton and enabled the German to equal Nigel Mansell's 1992 record of nine wins in a season. Hakkinen finished second in a race that
started off wet. Both the Ferraris retired with mechanical problems. 

1994 - Hill, Williams 
The race was halted after 14 laps due to heavy rain and a series of dangerous accidents. One of them involved Martin Brundle's McLaren sliding out of control into afire marshall, who suffered a broken leg. Hill's eventual win left him one point behind Schumacher, with the Australian Grand Prix remaining. This was also the

Briton's first outright win against Schumacher where both had had started and finished without outside interruptions. Schumacher was second.